Can Fortune Tellers Who Tell The Truth Make Any Money?

The Fortune Teller Baroque Bohemian Cats

“I am the only one of us who brings in any money. The other two cannot make money fortune telling. This is because they only tell the truth, and the truth is not what people want to hear. It is a bad thing and it troubles people, so they do not come back.”
― Neil Gaiman

Neil Gaiman is so very astute in his observation here that I’m curious to find out what his own experience of the mad and mysterious world of fortune telling is.

That said, I do tell the truth and I do have repeat clients. But it is all in how I market (and NOT market) myself. People find me through my work and teachings rather than glitzy psychic phone line adds that promise to deliver you the future on a silver platter.

If you know me, you’ll know that I’m a fortune teller / Tarot reader who would rather work on shaping wyrd together with my clients than serve them fate / orlog. Because I know that the future is rarely set in stone and to not develop the skill to shape one’s wyrd is to embrace powerlessness.

That said, I accept the fated elements and forewarned is forearmed.

You may come to me and ask if that tall dark stranger is lurking around the corner. If he is and if it is fated, I will tell you. However, if nobody is  showing in the cards I will tell you that too… and I may suggest a different question – one that will help you actually manifest the love that would be most beneficial to you at this point in time.

What type of fortune teller do you prefer? One that lays out your whole life before you or one that empowers you to make the right choices?

The Fortune Teller is an extra card and could be seen as the blank rune (wyrd) in a rune set. It is a reminder that you may want to think extra carefully about the next step on your journey. Listen to that still small voice within and do not let anyone or anything steal your power.

Love and Blessings,

Lisa Frideborg

Deck used: Baroque Bohemian Cats

4 comments

  1. Susan Ellis-Saller · October 14, 2014

    I love this question, Lisa!

    Sometimes it is really hard to stick with the ethics when I see other people working from a totally different angle, and making money at it. It’s only hard for a split second, because I know who I am and what I do with my craft – and I am totally cool with that and wouldn’t want it any other way.

    It is important to get the reminder from time to time!

    Awesome, as you-sual! 🙂
    Susan

    Like

  2. latinoscorp · October 14, 2014

    Eureka! Woke up, at an ungodly hour, with a question. The nature of information to be given. Instinctively went to check my emails and had received this one from you. 1 minute before, on essence while writing a note to remember the thought.
    Thanks!

    Like

  3. Lisa Frideborg Lloyd · October 14, 2014

    That’s pretty cool 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

