Glorious Escapism

Sea Kitten Page of Cups Mystical Cats Tarot

“Fantasy is escapist, and that is its glory. If a soldier is imprisioned by the enemy, don’t we consider it his duty to escape?. . .If we value the freedom of mind and soul, if we’re partisans of liberty, then it’s our plain duty to escape, and to take as many people with us as we can!”
― J.R.R. Tolkien

One of my fondest childhood memories is reading the NeverEnding Story by Michael Ende three times in a row and going deeper and deeper into the fantasy world Ende had created with each read. That one book influenced me more than I realised at the time. 

It is the only fiction book I have read more than once – possibly because it caught me just at the right time. It’s as if I knew, aged 12, that I was on a one way trip to adulthood and would soon no longer be able to justify childlike fantasies and escapism.

For the longest time in my adult years, I focused on making sense of reality. First as a Christian and, upon leaving the church, as a Lightworker – someone who had come here to transmute negative energy into positive. It could easily be argued, from a strictly logical point of view, that what I did then had nothing at all to do with reality. As I mature and grow in wisdom, I am beginning to realise that reality is almost 100% in the eye of the beholder anyway.

This is why, the older I get, the more I realise the value of of escapism. It simply widens the frontiers of what is possible. I’m currently attempting my first longer fiction piece, Runes of Light – Awakening of the Meta Witches, over on Wattpad. Whether it will be successful in taking others with me or not, I’m not yet sure… but I know that every time I sit down to write, I go far away from where I am now; I can be anyone and do anything. And when I come back from my faraway travels, I always bring some light with me… something to sustain and inspire me in the reality I have created for myself.

Be like Sea Kitten (Page of Cups) in the Mystical Cats Tarot today and enjoy your escapes and mini adventures. It will keep you youthful and inspired… and if you’re lucky, it may even gain you some new travel companions!

Love and Blessings,

Lisa Frideborg

Leave a Reply

